Firefly – Intended Order and by Airdate

Many people have asked us about the Firefly order, so we’ve decided to provide both Joss Whedon’s intended order, and the order that the series aired on TV. Fortunately, it’s currently correct by intended order on Netflix, which is also the order that it is on the DVD. We highly recommend watching it in order on Netflix, as that is how the series was intended to be watched.

Firefly on Netflix

  • Correct (Intended) Order: 1-14
  • By Airdate: 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, 1, 13, 11, 12
Update: Re-checked by request on Jan 13, 2017, same chronological order as above. But hey, we added a picture!

Netflix to Further Boost Original Programming – No Firefly Though

Wired and Deadline have both just written articles after Netflix’ Chief Content Officer Ted Sarandos talked about the future of the company at this morning’s investor conference call. Most importantly, he said that they would be boosting the 5% of current revenues that go toward creating new shows “to 10%, to 12%, to 15% over the next couple of years.”

While this is great news for cord cutters and fans of original programming, he said that Firefly fans shouldn’t get their hopes up. While Arrested Development grew in numbers as people discovered it on Netflix, he thinks the number that would watch a continuation of Firefly would be “fewer than the 6M who watched it.” He probably has backed this up by looking at Netflix’ own data regarding how many new people watch each show.

Posted from